Asperger’s Syndrome and Technology (Do they coexist? I think so.)


Autism Spectrum Disorders, specifically that of the Aspergers Syndrome Disorder, came to the forefront of my life when my son, who is now sixteen, was finally diagnosed as an Asperger (Aspie) patient late last year.  I say finally because for the previous, say 12 years, I knew something was “different” about him, but had the hardest time convincing doctors of every type of speciality (neurologists, psychologists, etc.) what it was.

Without getting into the specifics about the educational and medical battles I’ve endured in this post, I wanted to focus on the fact that since he is now properly diagnosed (in my opinion), how technology plays a pivotal role in his development as well as a hinderance.

My family has become accustomed to the term “as well as” when it comes to our Aspie.  I’ve found that with the help of support groups, reading, reading, and more reading, and just by being more open to talk about the subject, I’ve been able to manage my frustrations with some things and patience with others as we continue on this journey of awareness and tolerance.

I came across an article from a few years back that touches on this very question.  Take a read and let me know your thoughts.

http://www.computerworld.com/s/article/9072119/Asperger_s_and_IT_Dark_secret_or_open_secret_#disqus_thread

About macmamava
Full time mom, part time writer,lifelong dreamer! Lover of sports, hip hop, and Jack Daniels!

One Response to Asperger’s Syndrome and Technology (Do they coexist? I think so.)

  1. Queenie says:

    So glad you got a definitive diagnosis. “The journey of 1000 miles begins with one step”.

Leave a Reply

